Reading Workers Comp Claim Lawyer
Any employer in Pennsylvania who employs at least one person is required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Employers who do not comply with this law may face civil and criminal penalties. The state’s Workers’ Compensation Act governs how these claims are filed. Workers’ comp makes sure that employees who are hurt at work do not face financial hardship due to their injuries, and that they receive medical treatment. Below, our Reading workers comp claim lawyer outlines the steps in the process.
Tell Your Employer About the Accident
The first thing to do after a workplace accident is to tell your employer of the injury or occupational illness. Under the state’s workers’ compensation laws, you have 120 days to tell your employer about the accident and any resulting injury. You should report the accident to your employer within 21 days. If you notify your employer after this time has passed, you can obtain benefits from the date you reported it to your employer. However, you cannot receive retroactive benefits.
Seek Medical Treatment
If your injuries are urgent and life-threatening, it is critical that you visit an emergency room right away. If your injuries are not urgent, you should ask your employer if they have a list of approved physicians. If they do, you must see one of these doctors for the first 90 days of your injury. After that time, you are free to choose the doctor you would like to see for the remainder of your treatment.
File a Workers’ Compensation Claim
To begin receiving workers’ comp benefits as soon as possible, it is important to file a claim with the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry. The statute of limitations, or time limit, for filing a workers’ compensation claim is three years from the date of your injury. Still, it is important to speak to a Reading workers’ comp claims lawyer as soon as possible.
Your workers’ comp case will officially begin when your employer files a First Report of Injury and notifies their insurance company about your claim. After receiving the claim, the insurer must approve or deny your claim within 21 days. The insurer may also decide to temporarily approve your case for the next 90 days to continue an investigation. The insurer may inform you that they denied your claim at any point during those 90 days.
If the insurance company denies your claim, you have the right to appeal the decision. Appealing a denied workers’ comp claim also has strict deadlines so it is important to obtain legal advice.
Our Workers’ Comp Claim Lawyer in Reading Can Help with the Process
If you have been injured in a workplace accident, you have the right to claim workers’ compensation benefits. Unfortunately, the process is complex and many injured individuals miss out on the compensation they deserve. At Ira H. Weinstock, P.C., our Reading workers’ comp claim lawyer has the necessary experience to guide you through the process and ensure you receive the full benefits you and your family deserve. Call us now at 717-238-1657 or contact us online to request a free case evaluation and to learn more about your legal options.