Carlisle Workers Comp Claim Lawyer
In the majority of cases, it is mandatory for employers in Pennsylvania to have workers’ compensation insurance. A failure to have this type of coverage can result in both civil and criminal penalties for employers. Workers’ compensation claims filed in the state are governed by the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act. The workers’ compensation system is meant to ensure that workers who suffer injury on the job can receive the medical treatment they need without being placed in financial hardship. Workers’ compensation also provides other benefits to injured employees, such as wage loss coverage.
If you were hurt on the job, it is critical that you know your rights so you can exercise them. It is also important to understand how to file a workers’ compensation claim, and our Carlisle workers comp claim lawyer explains the process.
Provide Your Employer with Notice of the Workplace Injury or Illness
The first step after a workplace injury is to tell your employer that you were hurt or that you have been diagnosed with an occupational illness. Under the workers’ compensation laws in the state, you have 120 days to notify your employer, but you should report the injury or illness as soon as possible. If you report your injury to your employer 21 days after being hurt, you can only receive benefits from the date of the report, and not the date you were injured. If you report within 21 days, you can receive benefits starting on the first day you were hurt.
Seek Medical Treatment
If your injuries are very serious, you should visit the emergency room immediately. For injuries that are not as severe, you should ask your employer if they have a list of approved physicians. In Carlisle, you must use an approved physician for the first 90 days after your first visit. After that time, or if your employer does not have a list of approved physicians, you can see a doctor of your own choosing.
File a Formal Claim
To ensure that you obtain workers’ compensation benefits as soon as possible, it is important to file your claims with the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry immediately after being hurt. You only have three years to file a workers’ compensation claim, but you should speak to a Carlisle workers’ comp lawyer as soon as possible to make sure your rights are protected.
After your employer has filed a First Report of Injury, the insurance company providing coverage to your employer has 21 days to approve or deny your claim. If the insurer needs to further investigate, they can temporarily approve your claim for 90 days. At any point during those 90 days, though, they can deny your claim.
Call Our Workers Comp Claims Lawyer in Carlisle for a Free Consultation
Being hurt on the job is frustrating and stressful. At Ira H. Weinstock, P.C., our Carlisle workers comp claims lawyer can reduce that stress and make the entire process easier for you. Call us now at 717-238-1657 or fill out our online form to request a free review of your case and to get the legal help you need.